JUSTICE NOT POLITICS ALASKA



Dec. 8, 2015

Dear Legislator:

Each of us has served as Alaska Attorney General. Having seen our judiciary system up close, we are deeply concerned by recent efforts to amend the Alaska Constitution in a way that would introduce politics into the selection of Alaska's judges. We oppose Senate Joint Resolution 3, presently pending before the Senate, because it would weaken one of the best judicial selection and retention systems in America. We have been asked by Justice Not Politics Alaska, an Alaskan non-profit formed to defend Alaska's merit selection system for judges, to set out our reasons for opposing SJR 3.

We served Republican and Democratic governors who came from all segments of the political spectrum. But we agree that our Constitutional framers got it right when they created a merit selection system that ensures that only the most qualified judicial applicants —- the "tallest timber" —- will be nominated for the governor to consider appointing to the bench.

The Alaska Constitution first requires the Judicial Council to send only the very best candidates to the governor, then provides for the governor to make the appointment from among those nominated by the council, and finally it gives the voters the final decision in retention elections. In this way our system finely balances all of the interests in having the best possible judiciary. And it has worked well: Almost uniquely among the states, Alaska's judiciary has been free of the taint of corruption and scandal that has plagued so many other state judiciaries.

The Alaska Constitution's Judiciary Article has served the state well and should not be amended. Please reject SJR 3.

Sincerely,

John E. Havelock 1970-1973

Appointing Governor: Egan

Avrum M. Gross 1974-1980

Appointing Governor: Hammond

Harold M. Brown 1985-1986

Appointing Governor: Sheffield

Douglas B. Baily 1989-1990

Appointing Governor: Cowper

Charles E. Cole 1991-1994

Appointing Governor: Hickel

Bruce M. Botelho 1994-2002

Appointing Governors: Hickel, Knowles

Gregg D. Renkes 2002-2005

Appointing Governor: Murkowski

David W. Marquez

2005-2006

Appointing Governor: Murkowski

John J. Burns 2010-2012

Appointing Governor: Parnell

Michael C. Geraghty

2012-2014

Appointing Governor: Parnell